John Creaseybiographybibliography
John Creaseybiographybibliography

Michael Innes was the pseudonym of J I M Stewart who was a Student at Christ Church, Oxford, from 1949 until his retirement in 1973. He was born in 1906 and was educated at Edinburgh Academy and Oriel College, Oxford. He was lecturer in English at the University of Leeds from 1930 to 1935, Jury Professor of English at the University of Adelaide, South Australia, from 1935 to 1945, and lecturer in Queen’s University, Belfast, between 1946 and 1948. Under his own name he published many novels - including the quintet A Staircase in Surrey (The Gaudy , Young Pattullo, A Memorial Service, The Madonna of The Astrolabe and Full Term) - several volumes of short stories, as well as books of criticism and essays. His Eight Modern Writers appeared in 1963 as the final volume of The Oxford History of English Literature, and he is also the author of Rudyard Kipling (1966) and Joseph Conrad (1968). Under the pseudonym of Michael Innes he wrote broadcast scripts and many crime novels including Applebey’s End, The Bloody Wood, Death at The President’s Lodging, Hamlet, Revenge!, The Daffodil Affair, The Journeying Boy, Operation Pax and The Man From The Sea. J I M Stewart died in 1994.

Innes was prolific. Titles include:

Inspector Appleby novels
Death At the President's Lodging (first published 1936) (also known as Seven Suspects) , Hamlet, Revenge! (1937) , Lament for a Maker (1938) , Stop Press (1939) (also known as The Spider Strikes) , The Secret Vanguard (1940) , There Came Both Mist And Snow (1940) (also known as A Comedy of Terrors) , Appleby On Ararat (1941) , The Daffodil Affair (1942) , The Weight of the Evidence (1943) , Appleby's End (1945) , A Night of Errors (1947) , Operation Pax (1951) (also known as The Paper Thunderbolt) , A Private View (1952) (also known as One-Man Show and Murder Is an Art) , Appleby Talking (1954) (also known as Dead Man's Shoes) , Appleby Talks Again (1956) , Appleby Plays Chicken (1957) (also known as Death On a Quiet Day) , The Long Farewell (1958) , Hare Sitting Up (1959) , Silence Observed (1961) , A Connoisseur's Case (1962) (also known as The Crabtree Affair) , The Bloody Wood (1966) , Appleby At Allington (1968) (also known as Death By Water) , A Family Affair (1969) (also known as Picture of Guilt) , Death At the Chase (1970) , An Awkward Lie (1971) , The Open House (1972) , Appleby's Answer (1973) , Appleby's Other Story (1974) , The Appleby File (1975) , The Gay Phoenix (1976) , The Ampersand Papers (1978) , Sheiks and Adders (1982) , Appleby And Honeybath (1983) , Carson's Conspiracy (1984) , Appleby And the Ospreys (1986)

Other Novels
What Happened At Hazelwood? (1946) , From London Far (1946) (also known as The Unsuspected Chasm) , The Journeying Boy (1949) , Christmas At Candleshoe (1953) , The Man from the Sea (1955) (also known as Death By Moonlight) , Old Hall, New Hall (1956) (also known as A Question of Queens) , The New Sonia Wayward (1960) (also known as The Case of Sonia Wayward) , Money from Holme (1964) , A Change of Heir (1966) , The Mysterious Commission (1974) , Honeybath's Haven (1977) , Going It Alone (1980) , Lord Mullion's Secret (1981).

john creasey & fleming literary

Owatonna Media owns copyrights and related legal rights in all the works written under the name, Michael Innes. The present development focus is on the Inspector Appleby books, inn publishing and for film and television production.

willard priceMy Characters live in my mind... I can see them and hear them much more clearly than most people whom I know in life... It never occurs to me that they don't exist.

For email enquiries, please contact us